Well-deserved success for COPL’s 35th Annual Conference!

Retour aux nouvelles

On June 4, the École de Technologie Supérieure (ÉTS) hosted the annual conference of our strategic cluster. The team worked hard to design and deliver an ambitious program that provided participants with fresh perspectives and complementary knowledge as well as an opportunity for the community, including our talented students, to shine.

For the 2024 edition, the event was organized around two main themes: “exploring the potential of applications & discovering the scope of careers and research in photonics”.

Nine renowned professors, researchers and professionals delivered brilliantly crafted talks to an audience of nearly 230 COPL members and partners.

The list of speakers:

– Juejun Hu, DMSE Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
– Geneviève Gariépy, Solar-Terrestrial System Engineer, Canadian Space Agency
– Denis Panneton, specialized researcher at the National Optics Institute (INO)
– Yasaman Soudagar, co-founder & CEO, Neurescence
– Amirhossein Ghazisaeidi, Distinguished Member of Technical Staff Nokia Bell Labs, Paris-Saclay, France and 2023 COPL Tribute Award
– Ziad Elsahn, Staff Systems Design Engineer, Infinera
– Ming Zeng, Professor, Université Laval & Canada Research Chair in Radio Access Networks (Level 2)
– Bienvenu Ndagano, Professor, INRS-ÉMT & Quebec MEIE Research Chair in Quantum Photonics
– Fabio Boschini, Professor at INRS-ÉMT

Thank you all for your contribution to the success of this landmark event!

From left to right: Sophie Larochelle, Geneviève Gariépy, Denis Panneton,
From left to right: Leslie Rusch, Ziad Elsahn, Amirhossein Ghazisaeidi, Sophie Larochelle






Winners of the scientific poster competition!
From left to right: Sophie LaRochelle, Alireza Geravand (Photonic systems and microsystems),
Carlos Miguel Garcia Rosas (Lasers-matter interaction) , Guillaume Ramadier (Biophotonics), Audrey Le Bourlout (Photonic Materials), Yuming Niu (Quantum photonics), Roya Gachiloo Fibres (Optics and devices), Marouchka-M. Brisebois